A Wonderful Stay At An Excellent B&b

We were upgraded to a larger room. Everything was really nicely presented. Breakfast was delicious, especially the home made banana bread! There was always attention to detail. Thank you Sarah & Simon for welcoming us into your home.

Mrs. Nicola Arndt - 30th Mar, 2013

Verified Review

A Great Find!

We have just spent a weekend in Cheltenham visiting family and stayed at The Battledown. We had a lovely quiet comfortable room with a spotlessly clean and warm en-suite. Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. Sarah and Simon were extremely attentive and Isabella is a cutie! We will definitely be back!

Mrs. Ann Gardner - 27th Mar, 2013

Verified Review

A Pleasure

this was a wonderful and relaxing retreat from the world.

Dr. Gerald Pollack - 26th Mar, 2013

Verified Review

Weekend At The Battledown

The Battledown is a fantastic place to stay. We were warmly welcomed by Sarah, Simon and Isabela. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent. We would stay there again without doubt.

Celina and Richard

Ms. Celina Burn - 25th Mar, 2013

Verified Review

Fabulous B&b Find In Cheltenham

We found The Battledown via Trip Advisor and our experience exceeded our expectations. This B&B is more akin to a luxury boutique hotel, with a warm, personal welcome to boot. Our room was cozy but nicely appointed, freshly decorated, with every amenity at our fingertips -- including slippers and hottie botties. Breakfast was delicious (veggie fry-up for my husband, gorgeous salmon, eggs & chives for me), with homemade jams and banana bread too. We'd happily stay there again and will look for an excuse to visit Cheltenham sooner than later.

Ms. Donna Anton - 22nd Mar, 2013

Verified Review

The Battledown

Excellent accommodation, lovely hosts and delicious breakfast, highly recommended!

Miss. Nia Jones - 10th Mar, 2013

Verified Review

Overnight Stay 

A very nice comfortable stay, the breakfast was great. Always nice to feel its home from home.

Ms. Judy Butler - 27th Feb, 2013

Verified Review

Brilliant!

All guesthouses should be like The Battledown! Sarah and Simon have created a lovely "home from home" with a warm, comfortable and beautifully appointed B & B . They combine a very professional approach with a very friendly and welcoming attitude - truly a winning combination! Our room was lovely, and the breakfast delicious.

 

Mrs. Maureen Shepherd - 23rd Feb, 2013

Verified Review

Weekend Away

Another great weekend away at Sarah and Simon`s,nice to see they are now putting there own mark on their B&B first stopped there when they first moved in it has only got better could not fault anything room and breakfast excellent,also nice little touches with slippers and hot water bottles, with Sarah and Simon excellent host`s,looking forward to going again,first class.

 

Mr. Iain Norman - 20th Feb, 2013

Verified Review

The Battledown - Cheltenham

I could not fault our two day stay at the Battledown. In easy walking distance to the town centre, exemplary service, excellent food, rooms and facilities to be proud of. Probably the best bed & breakfast in the ....

Mr. Ian Offord - 4th Feb, 2013

Verified Review

Absolutely Fantastic

My partner an I have recently stayed her and I must say what a little gem. The owners were the most welcoming and pleasant people I have ever met. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast's were out of this world. Would definately return and would recommend to all.

Mrs. Donna Sallis - 12th Nov, 2012

Verified Review

The Battledown

My stay at the Battledown was excellent.Very comfortable, very clean,nothing was too much for Sarah and Simon - excellent hosts. Would certainly recommend this venue. Best B and B I've stayed in

Mrs. Judith Templar - 8th Nov, 2012

Verified Review

Wonderful Place To Stay 

We came across The Battledown whilst searching online - what a find! Simon and Sarah were very welcoming, the room and ensuite was clean tidy and beautifully refurbished. Good recommendation for evening meal. Breakfast was delicious too! Highly recommended!!

Mrs. Natalie Saunders - 5th Nov, 2012

Verified Review

Short Break

For anyone wishing to take a relaxing break in the Cheltenham area, you will find it hard to beat The Battledown for tranquility, comfort, good food and superb hosts. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Mr. Ray Deacon - 5th Nov, 2012

Verified Review

Two Day Stay

Excellent stay. Great breakfast, lovely room. Thank you Sarah for all your help with restaurant recommendations and things to do!

Mr. David Fowler - 1st Nov, 2012

Verified Review

Welcoming B&b

Could not be better for a short stay in Cheltenham.Convenient but quiet location with excellent food and comfortable suuroundings.

Mr. David Causer - 22nd Oct, 2012

Verified Review

Great B&b

We have a lovely stay at The Battledown and a very warm welcome from Sarah and Simon when we arrived. We were also recommended a restaurant which was excellent. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area.

Miss. Hollie Kendrew - 15th Oct, 2012

Verified Review

Best B&b We've Ever Stayed In

I cannot fault this B&B in any way. The rooms are immaculate and decorated beautifully. The beds were so comfortable, the shower powerful and everywher had lovely touches. Breakfast was delicious, using local produce and homemade jams. The welcome was brilliant. Can't recommend The Battledown highly enough. Thank you for making our stay perfect!

Miss. Libbi Coldicott - 2nd Oct, 2012

Verified Review

Excellent B&b

An outstanding B&B, Simon, Sarah and Izzy are so welcoming and make you feel so comfortable and relaxed in their home. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast excellent and the whole experience of staying at The Battledown is a joy - Thank you, will definately return.

Mr. Paul Turton - 25th Sep, 2012

Verified Review

 

You Won't Be Disappointed

This B&B is very grand on arrival and great parking. We were checked in and Sarah kindly made us feel really welcome with a cup of tea and biscuits. We stayed in room 6 and this was very spacious with a clean and modern on-suite and a very comfy bed, I even commented to Sarah at breakfast the next day that it was better than the one at home, well done the Battledown I'm normally the one that don't sleep and my husband snores away. Breakfast is home cooked and beautiful with homemade banana bread, marmalade and jam, yummy. A great stay, very clean, you will not be disappointed I promise. Well worth booking.

Mr. Martin Armson - 4th Sep, 2012

Verified Review

 

Best Of B & B!

It is impossible to fault this B & B. Rooms immaculate and comfortable. Breakfast excellent and hosts friendly, helpful and informative.

Mrs. Marie Bush - 4th Sep, 2012

Verified Review

Perfect

The most warm ospitality, beautiful rooms and very good breackfast. We seriously raccomend it!

Miss. Silvia Angeli - 31st Aug, 2012

Verified Review

Excellent Stay

I was very lucky to get into The Battledown, and had a really nice stay. It was particularly interesting to meet some of the other guests who were also at Greenbelt.

 

Mr. John Lawlor - 29th Aug, 2012

Verified Review

Perfect!

Wonderful and excellent hostel, the best!

Mr. Emanuele Palmero - 21st Aug, 2012

Verified Review

 

Fantastic

This was the second time we have stayed at the Battledown and the experience this time was as good as the first time FANTASTIC.The rooms are spotless, modern and very comfortable, hospitality is second to none, showers are fab, and the breakfast is superb. If you are visiting Cheltenham I would advise you not to stay anywhere else.

 

Mrs. Julie King - 13th Jul, 2012

Verified Review

Wonderful

The Battledown is a very impressive building so our first impressions were that this would be a great place to stay. Car parking at the back of the hotel was good and the gardens are beautiful with home grown strawberries that were served at breakfast! Owners Sarah and Simon ( and their daughter Isabella) are clearly passionate about their business and this shows in everything they do - from the tea / coffee and biscuits on arrival to the beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean room to the freshly cooked breakfast. Service was superb - very attentive and friendly not stuffy. Home made jam and marmalade was a lovely extra! Excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend and stay again ourselves.

Mr. Mark Simpson - 2nd Jul, 2012

Verified Review

First Rate Experience 

I stayed her for one night prior to The Cheltenham Circular Walk. On arrival early evening, I was offered a freshly made pot of tea or coffee. This came with shortbread fingers and chocolated digestives. The owners Sarah and Simon were very accomodating and offered to prepare a full cooked breakfast an hour earlier than they would normally do on a Sunday, so that I could start the Challenge promptly well stoked up for the marathon distance. I chose scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and chives, which was perfectly cooked and served with a toasted muffin. Jam and marmalade is home made and delicious, with a great selection of cereals, yoghurt and fruit, also home baked fruit loaf. Room was comfortable, clean, warm and there was ample storage. Mira shower was easy to adjust and flow good. I woul definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Mrs. Elaine Horsey - 25th Jun, 2012

Verified Review

10/10

Smart rooms, nice people and atmosphere with great service. Would definitely return for a longer stay!

Miss. Philippa Benson-smith - 24th Jun, 2012

Verified Review

A Fine Estasblishment  

I have stayed in many top hotels, mainly for business, for most of my life. B&Bs were not on my radar. The Battledown was recommended to me and I was greatly impressed by every aspect of its running and comfort. Many hotels charge for wifi; here it was free. A fine establishment.

Mr. Pedro Solares - 23rd Jun, 2012

Verified Review

Fabulous B And B In Cheltenham

We can highly recommend the wonderful B & B, The Battledown" in Cheltenham. Absolutely spotless and welcoming, Sarah and Simon can be congratulated on providing top class accommodation in this beautiful place. The breakfast is freshly cooked homemade food that is delicious and the best we have had on our trip. Sarah and Simon also provide excellent recommendations for local places for dinner and sightseeing. No hesitation in rating this 5 stars. Excellent value.

Mr. John Langron - 21st Jun, 2012

Verified Review

Excellent Stay

Absolutely great value for money coupled with friendly service in a beautiful house. Free private parking is an added bonus. The double room was small but beautifully decorated with good fittings/shower. Breakfast was excellent quality with homemade items also on offer. Only slight downside for us was it was served 7.30-8.30am which is a little early for us usually, but understand the reasoning for this. Only a 15/20min stroll into the centre of town. Great new business, we wish them well, if they continue as they are I can see this being THE place to stay in Cheltenham!... for us anyway!

Mrs. Susan Sainsbury - 21st Jun, 2012

Verified Review

Great B&b! 

I stayed at the Battledown for five nights in May, 2012. I had one of the downstairs refurbished rooms, and it was truly a wonderful room. Every convenience for the traveller was thought of by the owners. Simon and Sarah went out of their way to help in whatever way they could with any questions, and made sure I had an early breakfast on my departure day. Speaking of breakfasts, what amazing choices to start the day! I was able to skip lunch every day due to the extensive and filling breakfast. Very comfy bed and an incredibly powerful shower insured that both the start and end of the day were excellent. I would not hesitate to stay there again when next I am in Cheltenham. Kudos to Simon and Sarah!

Dr. Connie Evans - 10th Jun, 2012

Verified Review

Great Stay

A warm welcome, a beautiful house with a cosy room and a delicious breakfast.

The Battledown is the perfect base to explore the city by foot.

Sarah and Simon were great hosts.

Overall the perfect place!

Mr. Lutz Loeffler - 21st May, 2012

Verified Review

Delighted

I have little to suggest in the way of improvement - we were delighted by the warm reception we received, the room and the food. Good value for money

Mr. Michael Hawthorne - 18th May, 2012

Verified Review

 

Fabulous

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Battledown. We were welcomed with coffee and biscuits and offers to find somewhere to eat that evening if required. Spotlessly clean room, excellent shower, comfy bed and the most delicous breakfast (loved the homemade banana bread). Extremely friendly hosts. Who could ask for more. Would recommend it without hesitation.

Mrs. Vicki Hewes - 17th May, 2012

Verified Review

Excellent B&b

Exactly as described .Welcoming,comfortable, within reasonable distance of the centre.

Mr. Dennis Appleyard - 14th May, 2012

Verified Review

Fabulous B&b

We very much enjoyed staying at this B&B and couldn't have wished for a nicer time. Sarah and Simon were exceptional hosts and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was spotless and very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. On top of my husband's full english breakfast and my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, we even had delicious homemade marmalade and banana cake. Perfect! We will definitely be back to stay next time we are in Cheltenham. Thank you so much!

Mrs. Judith Wraight - 7th May, 2012

Verified Review

Excellent In Every Way

We recently spent several nights at the Battledown and have nothing but praise for the management and the facility. Our room was lovely and quiet with a powerful shower and lots of hot water. The breakfast was top quality in every respect. We also very much enjoyed the hospitality and helpfulness of the young couple who own the Battledown. All in all, an excellent B&B experience. We would definitely return.

Ms. Kendra Hill - 4th May, 2012

Verified Review

A Truly Relaxing Stay 

Our recent stay at The Battledown was simply wonderful.

 

With beautiful and clean rooms (and an amazing power shower!), genuinely warm hosts who are attentive but not intrusive, a delicious spread for breakfast with a good balance of hot and cold food including homemade jams, we really enjoyed our stay over the Easter weekend.

 

Rarely do I manage to feel at home at a B&B but Sarah and Simon were wonderful hosts. They welcomed us on our very first day with a pot of tea, addressed us by our first names, remembered our breakfast preferences from the previous days, took care to top up the little milk jug for our tea when it ran low, left little chocolate Easter eggs on the bed, etc. It's personal touches like these that make The Battledown stand out from the rest.

 

Thank you for such a lovely stay.

Ms. Flora Ngu - 10th Apr, 2012

Verified Review

 

A Warm Welcome And Very Happy Stay

We only stayed one night, to break up a long journey, but would have happily stayed longer. Sarah and Simon were very friendly, the room extremely comfortable and breakfast delicious. Highly recommended.

Mr. Jack Thorpe - 25th Mar, 2012

Verified Review

Half Term Break

We stayed for two nights at Battledown. The owners are very friendly and lovely hosts, the food excellent and the accomodation superb.

 

Would highly recommend.

Mr. Gary Hemer - 17th Feb, 2012

Verified Review

Our Stay

we were welcomed to Battledown shown to our room and served a welcome pot of tea .nothing was too much truble and locial pub that was recomended served exellent food everything you needed in the room and wonderfull breakfast next morning ,we would recomend it to any one

Mrs. Linda Copeland - 17th Dec, 2011

Verified Review

 

1 Night Stay 10/12/11

Best value B&B in Cheltenham, good location and off street parking, we received a very warm welcome, a very nice place to stay and will be even better post the refurb, excellent breakfast, we will definitely stay again.

Mrs. Elaine Stevenson - 12th Dec, 2011

Verified Review

Excellent Accommodation

The Battledown was very easy to find and on arrival I knew straight away that I had made the right choice. Simon and Sarah made me feel very welcome. The standard of the Battledown cannot be faulted with a nice size of room (single) with excellent facilities. The breakfast menu had great choices and I thoroughly recommend the egg and salmon. Would not hesitate to stay at the Battledown if I found myself in the area again.

Mr. Grant Harper - 12th Dec, 2011

Verified Review

 

Good Weekend

We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Cheltenham, made even better by our stay at The Battledown. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and our three year old son liked playing with the owners daughter. The room was very comfortable and our son had a proper single bed in the family room rather than a zed-bed or fold out sofa bed which is often the case. Breakfast was great with homemade jam and marmalade and delicious banana bread and tasty locally sourced bacon. We wished we were staying longer! Will definately stay there again next time we are in Cheltenham.

Ms. Vicki Legrove - 11th Dec, 2011

Verified Review

Highly Recommended!

Very welcoming, lovely bedroom, great location and amazing breakfast, thank you! Highly recommended!

Mr. Matthew Wallker - 5th Dec, 2011

Verified Review

 

A Great Weekend.

We found the B&B by chance and so glad we did. My boyfriend and I and our two friends went to see Gloucester and Leicester playing Rugby.

Due to this we needed an early check in, this was arranged and we were warmly welcomed. Sarah gave us information on bars and restaurants and where was good to go after the rugby and then organised a taxi for us.

We eventually arrived back at the B&B very tired and thankfully we had a beautifully clean room and very comfortable bed, and had a wonderful nights sleep.

The following morning we woke for breakfast and were treated to fantastic food with friendly service.

This is definitely where we will be staying next time we're up for the Rugby.

 

Miss. Kathryn Mccune - 30th Nov, 2011

Verified Review

 

Another Great Stay!

Sarah and Gary are extremely attentive and friendly owners, who go out of their way to ensure that each guest is comfortable and well taken care of. I have stayed at the Battledown on 4 different occasions and will keep returning (have been in 3 different rooms, all of which have been very clean and extremely comfortable). I would recommend this B&B very highly; both for the business traveler and for the more leisurely stay. The breakfast is absolutely superb quality!

Mrs. Laura Elsey - 28th Nov, 2011

Verified Review

B & B At Its Best!

The Battledown is the place to stay for a very warm welcome, comfy beds and a superb breakfast. My only regret is that we were only staying for one night.

 

Mrs. Patricia Proctor - 20th Nov, 2011

Verified Review

Best By Far

I have stayed at this great little guest house before, the first time was good and now with new owners if not just as good it might be just a little better.

 

This guest house is possibly the best I have stayed in so far, The two new owners are a great pair, we arrived at five got a warm welcome, shown to our rooms which again where spotless, well decorated and comfortable, we explained that we would be leaving earlier in the morning than what breakfast is served, this was not a problem as we where offered some bacon buttys to take with us in the morning, they even whent as far to fill my travel mug with coffe for the road ahead.

 

I will always try and stay here when working this way as it is home from home with great people.

 

Thank you both for making it easier to work away. 5 stars from me

Mr. Patrick Christophers - 28th Oct, 2011

Verified Review

 

A Great Place To Stay

Having stayed at the Battledown for several years we were worried that it would not be the same with new owners, but we need not have worried. The welcome we got from Simon and Sarah was so warm and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless, breakfast was memorable, and the whole stay was wonderfully relaxed and friendly. The location is ideal, the large car park very useful, and so we will continue staying at the Battledown whenever we come to Cheltenham.

 

Mr. Andrew Smith - 27th Oct, 2011

Verified Review

Excellent

excellent accommodation, excellent breakfast, lovely owners, lovely setting, we had a fab weekend - definately one to recommend and definately one to go back to. thankyou

Mrs. Wendy Moore - 24th Oct, 2011

Verified Review

Exactly What A Perfect B&b Should Be

Only stayed one night, but wish we could have stayed longer. Very welcoming family. Room very comfortable and clean. Bed cozy, shower hot and perfect facilities. Breakfast to die for! Excellent service. Will definitely be back and recommending to friends and family.

Mr. Giles Bosworth - 17th Oct, 2011

Verified Review

 

Wonderful Stay

Battledown Guest house was a wonderful oasis after a long drive down from Scotland. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome by Sarah and Gary on arrival and throughout our stay. Breakfast was lovely, we would definitely stay again if we are ever passing this way again.

 

Mrs. Amanda Bain - 10th Oct, 2011

Verified Review

B. Tung

Excellent host

Excellent accommodation

Excellent breakfast

What more can you ask for!!!!!,

Mr. Boon Tung - 4th Oct, 2011

Verified Review

Aussie Escape

Good sized room and excellent ensuite.

 

New owners were great and very helpful with stay and local food recommendations.

 

Excellent breakfast service.

 

Would have been happy to have stayed longer.

Mrs. Cheryl Saul - 1st Oct, 2011

Verified Review

 

The Battledown B&b Guesthouse Cheltenham

we were made to feel very welcome at your guesthouse and the atmosphere was very friendly,the rooms are clean and tidy, the breakfasts were delicious and fulfilling. thank you for a delightful stay, we would certainly recommend your guesthouse to family and friends and anyone who reads this review.

 

Isabel & Kenny McIntosh

Mrs. Isabel Mcintosh - 22nd Sep, 2011

Verified Review

2 Nights

Very warm welcome. Comfortable and very clean facilities. Excellent quality breakfasts. Highly recommended

Mr. Christopher Hulland - 19th Sep, 2011

Verified Review

 

Overnight Stay

Very warm welcome, a comfortable room and and an excellent breakast.

Mr. Jeremy English - 12th Sep, 2011

Verified Review

We Hopefully Will Be Back

We were given a very warm welcome on our arrival. Our room was comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast set us up for the day, and there was plenty to choose from. Hospitality throughout our weeks stay was excellent. Simon & Sarah deserve to succeed in their new venture with a little help from Isabella.

Mrs. Linda Wells - 23rd Aug, 2011

Verified Review

Our reviews : Page 2